Music and Freedom

Music and Freedom

By  Zoe Morrison

Winner of the 2016 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction, a gripping and beautifully written novel for fans of Anne Tyler and Elizabeth Strout.

'I have no use for forgiveness, not yet. But other ideas like that, kindness, for example, I think that is fundamental. Resurrection; I like that too. And love, of course, love, love, love.'

Alice Murray learns to play the piano aged three on an orange orchard in rural Australia. Recognising her daughter’s gift, her mother sends Alice to boarding school in the bleak north of England, and there Alice stays for the rest of her childhood. Then she’s offered a scholarship to the Royal College of Music in London, and on a summer school in Oxford she meets Edward, an economics professor who sweeps her off her feet.

Alice soon finds that Edwards is damaged, and she’s trapped. She clings to her playing and to her dream of becoming a concert pianist, until disaster strikes. Increasingly isolated as the years unravel, eventually Alice can’t find it in herself to carry on. Then she hears the most beautiful music from the walls of her house …

This novel’s love story is that of a woman who must embrace life again if she is to survive. Inspiring and compelling, it explores the dark terrain of violence and the transformative powers of music and love.

Format & Editions

Paperback

9781925324228

May 1, 2017

Vintage Australia

RRP $26.00

Pre-order

Online Retailers

or

Find your local Bookstore at Booksellers NZ

Trade Paperback

9781925324204

June 27, 2016

Vintage Australia

RRP $38.00

Buy now

Online Retailers

or

Find your local Bookstore at Booksellers NZ

EBook

9781925324211

June 27, 2016

RHA eBooks Adult

Buy now

Online Retailers

Awards & Recognition

2017

ALS Gold Medal Award

Longlisted

2017

Indie Book Awards

Longlisted

2016

The Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction

Winner